Advanced Analytics

Advanced Analytics: the new hype in Manufacturing

Manufacturing executives, by taking advantage of advanced analytics, can reduce process flaws, thus saving time and money.

In this article we will go through the main aspects of an Advanced Analytics project. The article addresses the executive managers, CDO’s, Data Scientists, BI Consultants, Developers and anyone interested in data science, analytics, innovation.

Let’s start by defining the Advanced Analytics concept:

As defined by Gartner, ‘Advanced Analytics’ is the autonomous or semi-autonomous examination of data or content using sophisticated techniques and tools, typically beyond those of traditional business intelligence (BI), to discover deeper insights, make predictions, or generate recommendations. Advanced analytic techniques include those such as data/text mining, machine learning, pattern matching, forecasting, visualization, semantic analysis, sentiment analysis, network and cluster analysis, multivariate statistics, graph analysis, simulation, complex event processing, neural networks.

Ok, time to draw the connection between general theory and  applicability

A deep dive in the historical process data is the right place to start an advanced analytics project. Here, patterns and relationships among process parameters should be identified. This can serve as a platform on which the factors that prove to have the greatest effect on the problematic KPI are being optimized. Data-wise, global manufacturers are in a very good position at the moment, they have huge amounts of real-time data and the capability to conduct such data science projects.

Starting an Advanced Analytics project can be overwhelming

Most companies encounter unique problems on the topic, however one of the recurring situations we noticed is that companies with long production cycles (months, maybe even years) in some cases have too little data to be statistically meaningful. One recommended approach in this situation will be to consider the situation from a long term perspective; executive managers should push to invest incrementally in systems and practices to collect more data on a particular complex process and then applying data analytics to that process. We observed first-hand that focusing on a particular process can be directly rewarding while serving also the role of the very first building block of a new, enhanced data strategy.

Let’s try to move away from theory towards practice and focus on a concrete scenario

Let’s take for example a real project we recently worked on. The objective was to discover actionable intelligence related to a specific error encountered in the production line of a major electronic components manufacturer.

As you might have been expecting, this type of project needs to be approached in a very agile manner. A hypothesis that maybe initially was part of the project core can be disproved in a matter of hours. At any moment you can be at square one again.

This aspect has repercussions on several elements like the project team, methodologies or technologies. We recommend you consider the following aspects:

  • The team should be as light and as agile as possible.
  • Ideally the technologies should also be as agile friendly as possible.

Please keep in mind that other factors like the specific scenario, budget, team skills, available infrastructure etc. could limit your options when you decide on the right team or technologies.

In our case, we were facing the situation of having knowledge both in SAP and Python based technologies, which is ideal. From an infrastructure point of view, for this specific project, we also could opt for either one. In the end, the choice was based on the solution’s agility and on the community support. Towards the end of this article I will present you the technologies used.

Methodology

If you want to use a standard process model to define your sprints there are two main options you can go with:

  • You can define your sprints based on a CRISP – DM (Cross-industry standard process for data mining)

Advanced Analytics

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Figure 1: Cross-industry standard process for data mining (CRISP – DM)

  • A second standard process model that you can use is the ASUM – DM (Analytics Solutions Unified Method).

Analytic Solution Unified Method

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Figure 2: Analytic Solution Unified Method (ASUM)

There is no right or wrong option here, this list is not exhaustive, and a custom solution based on a standard methodology in a lot of cases can lead to better results.

Techniques

The main techniques we used for the project are summed up in the following overview defined by McKinsey:

Technologies McKinsey

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Figure 3: McKinseys’ Techniques

Custom techniques

On top of the basic techniques you might have to go the extra mile. An example would be a Simulation vs Correlation Analysis. In our case a Correlation Analysis was looking very promising, but we were missing the data to properly isolate the correlation.

In this case we managed to figure out the function that would output the respective trend line and map it to an existing hypothesis. The hypothesis based simulation mapped the trend lines, meaning that the hypothesis was validated.

Let’s take a look on some of the results we achieved

Some of the actionable intelligence we got resulted from putting together the client’s expertise and our data science knowledge. The deliverable emphasized the following features:

  • It isolates the erroneous behavior to only three products (technique used – Data Visualizations)
  • The client managed to optimize the machines’ workload based on error rate performance indicators (technique(s) used: Data Visualizations / Significance Testing)
  • We identified trends in the relation between the packaging parameter value and the error rate (technique used: Correlation Analysis)
  • By doing simulations we validated a hypothesis pointing to the process stage and wafer where the error takes place (Technique used: Simulation vs Correlation Analysis)

Conclusions after delivery of our solution

The project made it possible for the client’s manufacturing professionals to engage in more fact-based discussions, comparing the real impact of different parameters before taking actions with the scope of improving productivity.

Most importantly, it enabled them to dynamically enhance the manufacturing process by setting up experiments for productions optimization.

In the end, our data science goals are those of bringing structure to big data, searching compelling patterns, and finally bringing changes that suit the respective business needs (Data → Knowledge → Actionable Intelligence).

As promised we will finally have a look at our technology setup

Core technologies:

  • Python
  • Jupyter Notebook – web based Python environment
  • Anaconda – package and environment manager and Python distribution
  • Pandas – Python library for data manipulation, slicing & dicing
  • NumPy – support for large, multi-dimensional arrays and matrices, along with a large collection of high-level mathematical functions to operate on these arrays
  • Bokeh – visualization library (being interactive was a big plus (especially useful was the Zoom functionality)). Several other libraries are available that are simpler to use and might fit your needs but even if Bokeh is a bit complex, the features it offers are great, very customizable. We highly recommend it.
  • SciPy – a free and open-source library used for scientific computing and technical computing.
  • Scikit-learn– a free software machine learning library. It features various classificationregression and clustering algorithms including support vector machinesrandom forestsgradient boostingk-means and DBSCAN, and is designed to interoperate with the Python numerical and scientific libraries NumPy and SciPy.

Secondary technologies:

  • SAP HANA
  • SAP Lumira Discovery
  • Orange – open-source data visualization, machine learning and data mining toolkit

At the very end, for those of you, who are tech savvier, feel free to download the next file in which we put together several code snippets and notes, in order for you to get a glimpse on what this type of development entails.

Would you like to find out more about our methods and projects or is there anything else we can do for you? Be sure to come back to our blog for regular updates. Also, don’t hesitate to contact us directly, we’ll be happy to hear from you!

 

Sources of the images: McKinsey & Company, IBM, Bosch Software Innovation

Resources: McKinsey, Gartner, Wikipedia

Author
Ovidiu Costea Consultant SAP BI
Phone: +49 (0) 7031 714 660 0
Email: cluj@inspiricon.de

Advanced Analytics

Advanced Analytics: der neue Hype in der Fertigungsindustrie

Führungskräfte in der Fertigungsindustrie können durch den Einsatz von Advanced Analytics ihre Prozessschwächen reduzieren und somit Zeit und Geld sparen.

In unserem Artikel möchten wir auf die Hauptaspekte eines Advanced Analytics Projekts eingehen. Er richtet sich an Führungskräfte, CDO’s, Data Scientists, BI Consultants, Entwickler und an alle, die sich für Datenwissenschaft, Analytik und Innovation interessieren.

Beginnen wir mit der Definition des Begriffes Advanced Analytics

Laut Gartner, heißt „Advanced Analytics“ die autonome oder teilautonome Untersuchung von Daten oder Inhalten mit ausgefeilten Techniken und Tools, typischerweise jenseits der traditionellen Business Intelligence (BI), um tiefere Einblicke zu gewinnen, Vorhersagen zu treffen oder Empfehlungen zu generieren. Zu den fortgeschrittenen Analyseverfahren gehören u.a. Data/Text Mining, maschinelles Lernen, Pattern Matching, Forecasting, Visualisierung, semantische Analyse, Sentimentanalyse, Netzwerk- und Clusteranalyse, multivariate Statistik, Graphenanalyse, Simulation, komplexe Ereignisverarbeitung, sowie auch neuronale Netze.

Verbinden wir nun die allgemeine Theorie mit der fertigungsorientierten Anwendbarkeit

Ein tiefer Einblick in die historischen Prozessdaten ist der richtige Punkt, um ein fortgeschrittenes Analyseprojekt zu starten. Hier sollen Muster und Zusammenhänge zwischen den Prozessparametern identifiziert werden. Dies kann als Plattform dienen, auf der diejenigen Faktoren optimiert werden, die den größten Einfluss auf den problematischen KPI haben. Datentechnisch sind globale Hersteller derzeit sehr gut aufgestellt, sie verfügen über riesige Datenmenge in Echtzeit und die Fähigkeit, solche datenwissenschaftlichen Projekte auch durchzuführen.

Der Beginn eines solchen Projekts kann verständlicherweise überwältigend sein

Die meisten Unternehmen begegnen oft individuell sehr unterschiedlichen Probleme im Bereich Datenanalyse, aber eine der wiederkehrenden Situationen, die wir oft angetroffen haben, ist, dass Unternehmen mit langen Produktionszyklen (Monate, vielleicht sogar Jahre) in einigen Fällen zu wenig Daten haben, um statistisch aussagekräftig zu sein. Ein empfehlenswerter Ansatz in solchen Fällen ist die langfristige Berücksichtigung dieser Situation. Verantwortliche Führungskräfte sollten darauf bestehen, zunehmend in Systeme und Methoden zu investieren, die es ermöglichen, mehr Daten über einen bestimmten komplexen Prozess zu sammeln und damit die Datenanalysen auf diesen Prozess anwenden zu können.

Wollen wir nun versuchen, von der Theorie zur Praxis überzugehen und uns auf ein konkretes Szenario zu konzentrieren

Nehmen wir zum Beispiel ein echtes Projekt, an dem wir kürzlich gearbeitet haben. Das Projektziel war es, verwertbare Informationen im Zusammenhang mit einem bestimmten Fehler in der Produktionslinie eines großen Herstellers von elektronischen Komponenten zu entdecken.  Wie zu erwarten, muss diese Projektart sehr agil angegangen werden. Eine Hypothese, die vielleicht zunächst Teil des Projektkerns war, kann in wenigen Stunden widerlegt werden. Man kann jederzeit wieder ganz am Anfang stehen.

Dieser Aspekt kann Auswirkungen auf verschiedene Faktoren haben, wie zum Beispiel das Projektteam, ausgewählte Methoden oder Technologien. Wir empfehlen daher,  die folgenden Punkte unbedingt zu berücksichtigen:

  • Das Team sollte so agil und flexibel wie möglich sein
  • Idealerweise sollten auch die eingesetzten Technologien so agile freundlich wie möglich sein

Auf die Auswahl des richtigen Teams und der richtigen Technologien haben natürlich auch immer andere Faktoren, wie das spezifische Szenario, das Budget, die Qualifikation der Teammitglieder und die verfügbare Infrastruktur einen Einfluss und können diese gegebenenfalls einschränken.

In unserem Fall war die Ausgangsposition, dass wir sowohl über Kenntnisse in SAP- als auch in Python-basierten Technologien verfügen, was ideal ist. Auch aus Infrastruktursicht konnten wir, für dieses spezifisches Projekt zwischen den beiden Technologien wählen. Die Wahl richtete sich schlußendlich nach der Agilität der Lösung und der Unterstützung der Entwickler-Community. Am Ende unseres Artikels werden wir die verwendeten Technologien noch vorstellen.

 Methodologie

Wenn man ein Standard-Prozessmodell zur Definition seiner Sprints verwenden möchte, gibt es zwei Hauptoptionen, die man nutzen kann:

  • Man kann seine Sprints basierend auf CRISP – DM (Cross-industry Standard Process for Data Mining) bestimmen

Advanced Analytics

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Abbildung 1: Cross-industry Standard Process for Data Mining (CRISP – DM )

  • Oder man verwendet da ASUM – DM (Analytics Solutions Unified Method) als Standard-Prozessmodell

Analytic Solution Unified Method

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Abbildung 2: Analytic Solution Unified Method (ASUM) 

Hierbei gibt es keine richtige oder falsche Option, diese Liste ist nicht vollständig und eine maßgeschneiderte Lösung, basierend auf einer Standardmethode, kann oftmals zu besseren Ergebnissen führen.

Angewandte Techniken

Die wichtigsten Techniken, welche wir in unserem Projekt eingesetzt haben, sind in folgender Übersicht von McKinsey dargestellt.

Tools Advanced Analytics

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Abbildung 3: Wichtige Technicken von McKinsey

Maßgeschneiderte Techniken

Zusätzlich zu den Grundtechniken muss man dann gegebenenfalls noch einen Schritt weiter gehen. Zum Beispiel durch eineAnalyse von Simulation vs. Korrelation. In unserem Fall sah eine Korrelationsanalyse sehr vielversprechend aus, aber uns fehlten die Daten, um die Korrelation richtig zu isolieren.

In diesem Fall ist es uns gelungen, die Funktion auszumachen, die die jeweilige Trendlinie ausgibt und sie mit einer bestehenden Hypothese zu verbinden. Die auf der Simulation basierende Hypothese bildete die Trendlinien ab, womit die Hypothese validiert wurde.

Werfen wir nun einen Blick auf einige unserer erzielten Ergebnisse

Ein Teil der verwertbaren Informationen, die wir erhalten haben, resultiert aus dem Zusammenspiel aus der Expertise des Kundenund unseres datenwissenschaftlichen Wissens. Die Resultate waren vor allem die folgenden:

  • Identifizierung und Eingrenzung des Fehleraufkommens auf nur drei Produkte (verwendete Technik – Data Visualization
  • Der Kunde konnte infolgedessen die Arbeitsbelastung seiner Maschinen anhand von Kennzahlen zur Fehlerquote optimieren (verwendete Technik – Data Visualization, Significance testing)
  • Es wurden Trends und Zusammenhänge zwischen den Verpackungsparametern und der Fehlerquote identifiziert (verwendete Technik – Correlation Analysis)
  • Durch Simulationen haben konnten wir eine Hypothese validieren, die auf die Prozessstufe und den Wafer verweist, an welchem der Fehler auftritt (verwendete Technik – Simulation vs Correlation Analysis)

Schlussfolgerung nach Übergabe unserer Lösung

Das Projekt ermöglichte  den Mitarbeitern des Kunden, mehr faktenbasierte Diskussionen zu führen und die tatsächlichen Auswirkungen verschiedener Parameter zu vergleichen, bevor sie Maßnahmen zur Produktivitätssteigerung ergreifen.

Das Wichtigste aber war, dass sie den Fertigungsprozess dynamisch optimieren konnten, indem sie Experimente zur Produktionsoptimierung aufbauten.

Unsere Data Science Ziele dienen letztlich der Strukturierung großer Datenmengen, der Suche nach überzeugenden Mustern und schließlich der Anpassung an den jeweiligen Bedarf im Unternehmen (Daten ® Wissen ® verwertbare Intelligenz).

Wie versprochen, werfen wir nun endlich auch einen Blick auf unser Setup

Kerntechnologien

  • Python
  • Jupyter Notebook – webbasierte Python-Umgebung
  • Anaconda – Paket- und Umgebungsmanagementund Python-Distribution
  • Pandas – Python Bibliothek für Datenmanipulation, Slicing & Dicing
  • NumPy – Programmbibliothek für Python. Unterstützung für große, mehrdimensionale Arrays und Matrizen, zusammen mit einer großen Sammlung von mathematischen Funktionen auf hohem Niveau, um auf diesen Arrays zu arbeiten.
  • Bokeh – Visualisierungsbibliothek: interaktiv verwendet war es ein großes Plus (besonders nützlich war die Zoom-Funktionalität). Es Es sind einige andere Bibliotheken verfügbar, die einfacher zu benutzen sind und den Anforderungen ebenfalls entsprechen könnten, aber selbst wenn Bokeh ein wenig komplex ist, sind die Funktionen, die es bietet, großartig und sehr gut anpassbar. Wir können es sehr empfehlen.
  • SciPy – Open-Source Umgebung für wissenschaftliche und technische Berechungen.
  • Scikit-learn– eine kostenlose Machine Learning Software-Bibliothek -. Sie bietet verschiedene Klassifikations-, Regressions– und Clustering-Algorithmen, darunter Support-Vektor-Maschinen, Random Forest, Gradient Boosting, k-means und DBSCAN, und ist so konzipiert, dass sie mit den numerischen und wissenschaftlichen Python-Bibliotheken NumPy und SciPy

Sekundäre Technologien:

  • SAP Hana
  • SAP Lumira Discovery
  • Orange – Open-Source-Datenvisualisierungs-, Machine Learning und Data-Mining-Toolkit.

Die technisch versierten unter Euch können auch die nächste Datei herunterladen, in der wir einige Codeschnipsel und Notizen zusammengestellt haben, damit ihr einen Eindruck davon bekommt, was diese Art der Entwicklung alles beinhaltet.

Du möchtest mehr über unsere Methoden und Projekte erfahren oder können wir sonst noch etwas für Dich tun? Besuche unseren Blog für regelmäßige Updates. Zögere nicht, uns direkt mit deinen Fragen und deinem Feedback zu kontaktieren. Wir freuen uns auf Deine Kontaktaufnahme!

Quellenangabe der Bilder: McKinsey & Company, IBM, Bosch Software Innovation

Quellen: McKinsey, Gartner, Wikipedia

Autor dieses Beitrags
Ovidiu Costea Consultant SAP BI
Tel.: +49 (0) 7031 714 660 0
E-Mail: cluj@inspiricon.de