organize-your-work-with-abapgit-inspiricon

Organize your work with abapGit

What is abapGit and how does it work? 

Assuming you are already familiar with ABAP programming but have not heard about abapGit, let us first shortly introduce you to the Git world.  

Git is a version control system, „VCS”, which gives us the possibility to follow changes in a file. Yet, you may be wondering, what is a VCS and what is its purpose? 

A Version Control System, also known as a Revision Control, is a system that gathers and stores the history of changes in any collection of files or source codes during their lifetime cycle. Each change is assigned to a „revision number” and has a bookmark that includes when and who made that specific change.  

Versioning procedures have become more and more necessary in the field of computer science. Significantly, a version control system allows us to go back to or restore an older version, in case there is an undesirable change in or deletion of a software program. 

ABAP itself also brings in a version control system, but this system is closed in its own environment, hence it does not allow working together with “outsiders”. This happens particularly for opensource projects, but also in general, for all source codes, and for that reason, sharing is quite complicate. 

If you are interested to learn more about Git, we highly recommend you the book “Pro Git” written by Scott Chacon and Ben Straub. It is available under https://git-scm.com/book/en/v2. 

In the landscape of SAP development, abapGit comes as the Git client written in ABAP. It is an Open Source project initiated by Lars Hvam under an MIT License. You can find his blog posts on https://people.sap.com/lars.hvam. 

More helpful information about abapGit itself and other great ABAP open source projects can be found in the great blog of Graham Robinson, which is also the basis for the article today: https://blogs.sap.com/2017/06/21/abapgit-so-easy/. 

In this article we will focus on the installation and utilization of the ABAP Git using GitHub and AWS CodeCommit. In the following procedures, the environment used was SAP NetWeaver 7.5. Now let’s take off on our journey. 

Four steps away from the abapGit experience 

In order to be well equipped to explore the abapGit features, further are the steps needed for setting up and connecting to the development platform and hosting services. 

Step 1: abapGit Server installation 

First and foremost, all we need to do is to run the abapGit project on our ABAP development system. 

Considering you already have access to an SAP NetWeaver installation, open the SAP GUI client and create an ABAP Report “ZABAPGIT” via SE38 or SE80 transactions. Then replicate the code from this link: https://raw.githubusercontent.com/abapGit/build/master/zabapgit.abap  

Activate and execute your report. Consequently, the abapGit Homepage will be displayed on screen.  

abap-Git-homepage

Please keep in mind that if you want to update your abapGit project to a newer version, you just need to replace the code in the report with the most recent settings and the upgrade is done. 

In other words, this is a straightforward manner through which you can download the most recent version of the abapGit whensoever. Easy, right? 

Step 2: GitHub Root Certificates download 

In this next step, we will carry on with the SSL setup which allows us to use the online feature of the Git server. As opposed to, offline projects operate behind firewalls and without SSL. An SSL, “Secure Sockets Layer”, certificate is a text file with encrypted data that we need to install on our server for establishing a secure, reliable and responsive communication with a web browser.  

Nowadays, the most popular web-based community hosted by Git is GitHub. To enable the communication between the abapGit and GitHub, it is necessary to install some root certificates on your ABAP system. We have several options for downloading the files depending on the web browser we use, otherwise, we can download them manually. The purpose of these root certificates is to assure the integrity and privacy of the communication data between the server and the web browser. 

We have used Google Chrome as the main web browser. Proceed with the following steps to find the necessary certificates:  

  • Go to https://github.com. 
  • Click on the locker icon near the address bar and then select “Certificate”. 
  • Go to the “Details” tab and click on “Copy to file…” to export the certificate to a .CER file. 
  • Specify the name of the file, choose the path to which the file will be saved and press “Finish”. 
  • Select the “Certification Path” tab and repeat the two previous steps starting from the parent node of the tree until the root node. 

If you want to manually download the root certificates, navigate to the GitHub platform and find the certificates that it is using, as shown for the above browser. Download these certificates from https://www.digicert.com/digicert-root-certificates.htm by accessing the “Root Certificates” section. 

You can find more information here: http://docs.abapgit.org/. 

We have now the files in the format wanted and, consequently, we can establish the connection with the SAP system. 

Step 3: SSL Setup using SAP Trust Manager 

For the previously downloaded certificates to be acknowledged, we need to install them in the SAP system using Trust Manager application. Therefore, log on to your SAP GUI system and run the STRUST transaction.  

Make a switch to the “Change” mode and from the top-left objects list, open the “SSL System Client SSL Client (Anonymous)” folder. 

SSL-SAP-Trust-Manager

Choose Import certificate” from the bottom-left side of the Certificate” box and insert the file paths of the certification files exported earlier from the web browser. 

abapGit-add-to-certificate

Select “Add to Certificate List” for each certification file separately, one by one. As a result, the “Certificate List” box should look as follows: 

abapGit-certificate-list

Save the changes made. The root certificates are now installed on the SAP development system.  

In order to check if the ABAP tools can communicate with the Git server, it is compelling to test if the connection between them works properly. To give an illustration for that, create an ABAP Report “ZABAPGIT_TEST_SSL” via SE38 or SE80 and copy the code from this link: http://docs.abapgit.org/other-test-ssl.html

Activate and execute your program. If the connection has been successfully established, following output is expected:

abapGit-test-ssl

However, if the connection is not working properly, consider the fact that you may have to set two profile parameters in the RZ10 transaction (see also SAP Note 510007 – Setting up SSL on Application Server ABAP, step 7).  

For instance, in our system we had to set the following values: 

ssl/ciphersuites = 135:PFS:HIGH::EC_P256:EC_HIGH 

ssl/client_ciphersuites=150:PFS:HIGH::EC_P256:EC_HIGH 

Please keep in mind that you need to restart the application server or at least, in the ICM Monitor, SMICM transaction, to restart the icman process! 

Dive deeper into the subject by going to https://blogs.sap.com/2008/10/31/calling-webservices-from-abap-via-httpsssl-with-pfx-certificates/. 

Step 4: Git Repositories connection 

Keep your installed abapGit code up to date with the most recent developments and extend the supported object types by downloading the required plugins. 

Particularly, when abapGit is run for the first time, the abapGit tutorial page will be displayed, as shown in Step 1. On the bottom side of the page, you can find the “abapGit related repositories” section. 

abapGit-repositories

 

Click on the „install abapGit repo” to start the process. Press „Continue” to download the current version of abapGit into package $ABAPGIT, which in this case is a local package. Choose „Overwrite” to update the „ZABAPGIT” program created previously and activate all the abapGit artifacts. 

In a similar manner, choose „install abapGit repo”, proceed the steps and you will be then ready to experience the abapGit features. 

abapGit-Funktionen

An important thing to be detailed here is that not only GitHub platform, which is a web-based hosted service for version control, can be used to connect with the abapGit, but there is also the possibility to communicate using the Amazon Web Services. 

We as Inspiricon work a lot with the Amazon Web Services, so for us, it would be the best to use the “AWS Service CodeCommit” as Git-Server for our repositories. If you want this as well, the first thing you might want to do after the installation is to connect to the Amazon Web Services, so you can leverage the online feature of the abapGit platform. 

Amazon Web Services, shortened as “AWS”, offers reliable, scalable and secure cloud computing services, database storage and other functionalities to help in the business processes. For connecting to the AWS Server, you need to follow several steps.  

The first steps are similar to the previous ones presented for connecting to the GitHub server, including the download and upload of the root certificates, as shown in Step 2 and Step 3. Next thing is to create IAM-Users in the AWS. It is important that you create in the IAM-User profile “HTTPS Git credentials for AWS CodeCommit”.  

As privileges you should assign at a minimum the following permissions: 

  • AWSCodeCommitPowerUser AWS Managed Policy 
  • IAMReadOnlyAccess AWS Managed Policy 
  • IAMSelfManageServiceSpecificCredentials AWS Managed Policy 

For more information, you can also go to https://docs.aws.amazon.com/codecommit/latest/userguide/setting-up-gc.html. 

After the initial configuration is made, you can create your own repositories in the AWS CodeCommit Dashboard.  

Online and Offline? 

First and most importantly, the abapGit project can be started in the SAP NetWeaver platform using the transaction “ZABAPGIT”. abapGit comes in with the Online and the Offline features. On the one hand, the offline feature refers to replicating a local ABAP package from your system into the abapGit workspace. On the other hand, the online feature allows us to work with repositories. Hence, what it is a Repository? 

A repository, frequently abbreviated as “repo”, is a location where all the files for a single project are stored. Each project has its own repository and it can be accessed by using a unique HTTPS-Url. We need to connect this repository to an existing ABAP package from our system or to create a new one. 

Conclusion 

An increasing number of companies and developers around the world have decided to make a switch and use Git as the main control software. In the landscape of the SAP industry, abapGit comes to the help of developers in the form of an ABAP client written in ABAP which completely benefits from the Git functionalities.  

AbapGit is free, fast and provides a consistent, scalable model. Another big plus is that abapGit automatically pushes changed objects to the remote Git repository, being, in the same time, an environment which facilitates the process of parallel development. It is best suited for code sharing and for tracking changes in the development process. 

Open source projects and code sharing beyond company boundaries are a good way to participate to the open source community, to learn and improve your own skills and find new solutions for different actual problems. Furthermore, all these are supported by Git and abapGIT! 

Do you feel enthusiastic to find out more about the subject? We would be very happy to keep you informed with the updates and to present you many more other interesting topics and projects we are also involved in. Stay in touch! 

Author
Andra Atanasoaie Associate
Phone: +49 (0) 7031 714 660 0
Email: cluj@inspiricon.de

organisiere-deine-arbeit-mit-abapgit-inspiricon

Organisiere deine Arbeit mit abapGIT

Was ist abapGit und wie funktioniert es?

Wenn du bereits mit der ABAP-Programmierung vertraut bist, aber noch nichts von abapGit gehört hast, stellen wir dir hier zunächst die Git-Welt vor.

Git ist ein Versionskontrollsystem mit dem man alle Änderungen einer Datei während ihrer Laufzeit nachverfolgen kann.

Aber was ist ein Versionskontrollsystem? Ein Auszug aus dem Buch von Scott Chacon und Ben Straub schafft Klarheit:

Was ist eine „Versionskontrolle“ und warum sollte ich mich damit beschäftigen? Versionskontrolle ist ein System, das Änderungen an einer oder mehreren Dateien registriert, um spezifische Versionen später noch abrufen zu können. Für die Beispiele in diesem Buch werden wir Software-Quellcodes verwenden, um die Änderungen nachzuverfolgen. In Wirklichkeit könnt ihr das jedoch mit nahezu jeder Datei auf einem Computer machen.

Falls du ein Grafik- oder Webdesigner bist und du jede Version eines Bildes oder eines Layouts behalten möchtest (was du wahrscheinlich nicht möchtest!), dann ist ein Versionskontrollsystem (VKS) die richtige Wahl. Damit kannst du eine Datei in einen früheren Zustand zurückversetzen, ein ganzes Projekt rückgängig machen, Änderungen zu verschiedenen Zeitpunkten vergleichen, sehen wer als letztes etwas geändert hat, das möglicherweise Probleme machen könnte, wer einen Aspekt hinzugefügt hat und vieles mehr. Wenn du ein VKS nutzt heißt das auch, dass es einfach ist, die Dateien wiederherzustellen, falls du etwas durcheinander gebracht oder Dateien verloren hast. Dies alles bekommst du für sehr geringe Kosten.

ABAP selbst liefert ebenfalls ein Versionskontrollsystem, aber dieses System gilt nur für die eigene geschlossene Arbeitsumgebung. Es ist also nicht möglich mit „Outsidern“ zusammen zu arbeiten. Code-Sharing ist immer schwierig, besonders jedoch bei Opensource Projekten.

Du möchtest mehr über Git erfahren? Dann kann ich dir das Buch „Pro Git“ von Scott Chacon und Ben Straub empfehlen: https://git-scm.com/book/en/v2.

abapGit, der GitClient in ABAP, ist ein Opensource Projekt, das von Lars Hvam (https://people.sap.com/lars.hvam) unter Anwendung einer MIT Lizenz initiiert wurde.

Mehr über das abapGit selbst und andere großartige ABAP Opensource Projekte findest du in diesem wirklich sehr guten Blog von Graham Robinson, auf dem auch dieser Artikel basiert: https://blogs.sap.com/2017/06/21/abapgit-so-easy/.

In diesem Artikel konzentrieren wir uns auf die Installation und Nutzung des abapGit mittels GitHub und Amazon Web Services (AWS) CodeCommit.

In den folgenden Verfahren wurde SAP NetWeaver 7.5 als Arbeitsumgebung verwendet. Lass uns jetzt starten!

Vier Schritte bis zur abapGit Erfahrung

Um die Funktionen von apabGit optimal nutzen zu können, sind vier Schritte zur Einrichtung und Anbindung an die Entwicklungsplattform und die Hosting-Dienste notwendig.

Schritt 1: Einrichtung des abapGit Servers

Als erstes müssen wir nur das abapGit-Projekt auf unserem ABAP-Entwicklungssystem laufen lassen.

Wenn du den SAP NetWeaver bereits auf deinem Rechner installiert hast, öffne nun den SAP GUI-Client und erstelle einen ABAP-Report „ZABAPGIT“ über die Transaktionen SE38 oder SE80. Dann wiederhole den Code auch im untenstehenden Link:

https://raw.githubusercontent.com/abapGit/build/master/zabapgit.abap

Aktiviere den Bericht und führe ihn aus. Danach wird die abapGit Startseite auf dem Bildschirm angezeigt.

abap-Git-berichte-abrufen

Bitte beachte, dass, wenn du dein abapGit-Projekt auf eine neuere Version aktualisieren möchtest, du nur den Code im Bericht durch die neuesten Einstellungen ersetzen musst – damit ist das Upgrade schon beendet.

Anders gesagt ist dieses Verfahren ein unkomplizierter Weg, über den du jederzeit die neueste Version des abapGit herunterladen kannst. Ziemlich einfach, oder?

Schritt 2: GitHub Root Zertifikate herunterladen

In diesem nächsten Schritt werden wir mit der SSL-Einrichtung fortfahren, die es uns ermöglicht, die Online-Funktion des Git-Servers zu nutzen. Im Gegensatz dazu arbeiten Offline-Projekte hinter Firewalls und ohne SSL. Ein SSL, „Secure Sockets Layer“ Zertifikat ist eine Textdatei mit verschlüsselten Daten, die wir auf unserem Server installieren sollten, um eine sichere, zuverlässige und reaktionsschnelle Kommunikation mit einem Webbrowser sicherzustellen.

Heutzutage ist GitHub die beliebteste webbasierte Gemeinschaft, die von Git organisiert wird. Um die Kommunikation zwischen abapGit und GitHub zu ermöglichen, ist es notwendig, einige Root-Zertifikate auf Ihrem ABAP-System zu installieren. Je nach verwendetem Webbrowser hat man verschiedene Möglichkeiten, die Dateien herunterzuladen, ansonsten kann man sie manuell herunterladen. Der Zweck dieser Root-Zertifikate ist es, die Integrität und Geheimhaltung der Kommunikationsdaten zwischen dem Server und Webbrowser zu sichern.

Wir haben Google Chrome als Standard-Webbrowser verwendet. Führe die folgenden Schritte aus, um an die erforderlichen Zertifikate zu kommen:

  • Gehe auf die Seite https://github.com.
  • Klicke auf das Schließfachsymbol neben der Adressleiste und wähle dann „Certificate“.
  • Gehe auf die Registerkarte „Details“ und klicke auf „Copy to file…“, um das Zertifikat in eine CER-Datei zu exportieren.
  • Gib den Namen der Datei an, wähle den Pfad, in dem die Datei gespeichert werden soll und drücke auf „Finish“.
  • Wähle die Registerkarte „Certification Path“ und wiederhole die beiden vorherigen Schritte vom übergeordneten Knoten bis zum Wurzelknoten.

Wenn du die Root-Zertifikate manuell herunterladen möchtest, navigieren zur GitHub-Plattform und finden heraus, welches Zertifikat sie verwendet; so wie wir es oben schon gezeigt haben. Lade diese Zertifikate unter https://www.digicert.com/digicert-root-certificates.htm im Bereich „Root Certificates“ herunter.

Weitere Informationen findest du unter http://docs.abapgit.org/.

Wir haben nun die Dateien im gewünschten Format und können so die Verbindung zum SAP-System herstellen.

Schritt 3: SSL-Einrichtung mit dem SAP Trust Manager

Damit die zuvor heruntergeladenen Zertifikate bestätigt werden können, müssen wir nun die sogenannte Trust Manager Anwendung im SAP-System installieren. Melde dich dazu an deinem SAP-GUI-System an und führe die Transaktion STRUST aus.

Wechsle zum „Change“ Modus und öffne aus der linken oberen Objektliste den Ordner „SSL Sys-tem Client SSL Client (Anonymous)“.

SSL-Einrichtung-mit-dem-SAP-Trust-Manager

Wähle „Import certificate“ unten links im Feld „Certificate“ aus und füge die Dateipfade der zuvor aus dem Webbrowser exportierten Zertifizierungsdateien ein.

abapGit-add-to-certificate

Wähle „Add to Certificate List“ für jede Zertifizierungsdatei einzeln aus, eine nach der anderen. Am Ende sollte das Feld „Certificate List“ wie folgt aussehen:

abapGit-certificate-list

Speichere die vorgenommenen Änderungen. Die Root-Zertifikate sind nun auf dem SAP-Entwicklungssystem installiert.

Um zu prüfen, ob die ABAP-Werkzeuge mit dem Git-Server kommunizieren können, ist es zwingend notwendig zu testen, ob die Verbindung zwischen ihnen funktioniert. Erstelle einen ABAP-Report „ZABAPGIT_TEST_SSL“ über die Transaktionen SE38 oder SE80, um dies zu veranschaulichen und kopiere den Code aus dem folgenden Link: http://docs.abapgit.org/other-test-ssl.html

Aktiviere dein Programm und führe es aus. Wenn die Verbindung erfolgreich hergestellt wurde, wird folgende Ausgabe erwartet:

abapGit-test-ssl

Wenn die Verbindung jedoch nicht korrekt funktioniert, achte darauf, dass du eventuell zwei Profilparameter in der Transaktion RZ10 einstellen musst (siehe auch SAP-Hinweis 510007 – Einrichten von SSL auf dem Application Server ABAP, Schritt 7).

In unserem System mussten wir zum Beispiel folgende Werte einstellen:

ssl/ciphersuites = 135:PFS:HIGH::EC_P256:EC_HIGH

ssl/client_ciphersuites=150:PFS:HIGH::EC_P256:EC_HIGH

Bitte beachte, dass du den Applikationsserver neu starten musst oder zumindest in der Transaktion ICM Monitor, SMICM, um den icman-Prozess neu zu starten!

Hier kannst du tiefer in das Thema eintauchen: https://blogs.sap.com/2008/10/31/calling-webservices-from-abap-via-httpsssl-with-pfx-certificates/.

Schritt 4: Git Repositories-Verbindung

Halte deinen installierten abapGit-Code auf dem neuesten Stand und erweitere die unterstützten Objekttypen durch das Herunterladen der benötigten Plugins.

Wenn abapGit zum ersten Mal ausgeführt wird, wird die abapGit-Tutorial-Seite angezeigt, wie schon in Schritt 1 gezeigt. Auf der Unterseite der Seite findest du den Abschnitt „abapGit related repositories“.

abapGit-repositories

Klicke auf „install abapGit repo“, um den Prozess zu starten. Klicke auf „Continue“, um die aktuelle Version von abapGit in das Paket $ABAPGIT herunterzuladen, das in diesem Fall ein lokales Paket ist. Wähle „Overwrite“, um das zuvor erstellte Programm „ZABAPGIT“ zu aktualisieren und alle abapGit-Werkzeuge zu aktivieren.

Gehe genauso für „install abapGit plugins“ vor. Dann bist du bestens dafür vorbereit, die abapGit-Funktionen auszuprobieren.

abapGit-Funktionen

Wichtig dabei ist, dass nicht nur die GitHub-Plattform – ein webbasierter gehosteter Dienst zur Versionskontrolle – mit dem abapGit verbunden werden kann, sondern auch die Möglichkeit der Kommunikation über die Amazon Web Services besteht.

Wir als Inspiricon arbeiten viel mit den Amazon Web Services, daher lag es für uns nahe, den „AWS Service CodeCommit“ als Git-Server für unsere Repositories zu nutzen. Wenn dies auch deine Wahl sein sollte, musst du dein System nach der Installation zunächst mit den Amazon Web Services verbinden, damit du die Online-Funktion der abapGit-Plattform nutzen kannst.

Amazon Web Services, kurz „AWS“ genannt, bietet zuverlässige, skalierbare und sichere Cloud-Computing-Services, Datenbankspeicher und andere Funktionalitäten zur Unterstützung der Geschäftsprozesse. Um sich mit dem AWS Server zu verbinden, musst du mehrere Schritte ausführen.

Die ersten Schritte sind ähnlich wie die für die Verbindung mit dem GitHub-Server, einschließlich des Herunter- und Hochladens der Root-Zertifikate, wie in Schritt 2 und Schritt 3 beschrieben. Als nächstes müssen IAM-Benutzer im AWS angelegt werden. Es ist wichtig, dass du im IAM-Benutzerprofil „HTTPS Git credentials for AWS CodeCommit“ arbeitest.

Als Rechte solltest du mindestens die folgenden Berechtigungen vergeben:

  • AWSCodeCommitPowerUser AWS Managed Policy
  • IAMReadOnlyAccess AWS Managed Policy
  • IAMSelfManageServiceSpecificCredentials AWS Managed Policy

Weitere Informationen findest du auch unter: https://docs.aws.amazon.com/codecommit/latest/userguide/setting-up-gc.html.

Nach der Erstkonfiguration kannst du im AWS CodeCommit Dashboard eigene Repositories anlegen.

Online und Offline?

Das abapGit-Projekt kann in der SAP NetWeaver-Plattform über die Transaktion „ZABAPGIT“ gestartet werden. abapGit verfügt über Online- und Offline-Funktionen. Die Offline-Funktion bezieht sich einerseits auf die Replikation eines lokalen ABAP-Pakets aus deinem System in den abapGit-Workspace. Andererseits erlaubt uns die Online-Funktion, mit Repositories zu arbeiten. Was ist also ein Repository?

Ein Repository, häufig als „repo“ abgekürzt, ist ein Ort, an dem alle Dateien für ein einzelnes Projekt gespeichert werden. Jedes Projekt hat sein eigenes Repository und kann über eine eindeutige HTTPS-Url angesprochen werden. Wir müssen dieses Repository mit einem bestehenden ABAP-Paket aus unserem System verbinden oder ein neues anlegen.

Fazit

Immer mehr Unternehmen und Entwickler auf der ganzen Welt haben sich entschieden, Git als zentrale Steuerungssoftware einzusetzen. In der Landschaft der SAP-Branche kommt abapGit den Entwicklern in Form eines in ABAP geschriebenen ABAP-Clients zu Hilfe, der von den Git-Funktionalitäten profitiert.

abapGit ist kostenlos, schnell und bietet ein konsistentes, skalierbares Modell. Ein weiterer großer Vorteil ist, dass abapGit automatisch geänderte Objekte in das remote Git-Repository schiebt und gleichzeitig eine Umgebung ist, die Parallelentwicklungen erleichtert. Es eignet sich am besten für die gemeinsame Nutzung von Code und für die Verfolgung von Änderungen im Entwicklungsprozess.

Wenn du eine zentrale Stelle für die Organisation des Quellcodes in deinen Projekten benötigst, ist abapGit das perfekte Werkzeug.

Bist du motiviert und möchtest mehr über das Thema erfahren? Gerne informieren wir dich über die Updates und stellen dir weitere interessante Themen und Projekte vor, an denen wir ebenfalls beteiligt sind. Bleib mit uns in Kontakt – folge uns auf LinkedIn, XING oder facebook!

Autor dieses Beitrags
Andra Atanasoaie Associate
Tel.: +49 (0) 7031 714 660 0
E-Mail: cluj@inspiricon.de