Inspiricon SAP-HANA-2 cloud-in-memory

SAP HANA 2: the next generation of SAP HANA platform

SAP HANA 2 adds new features to the In-Memory Platform SAP HANA. SAP HANA is a platform designed to push forward the digital transformation. Via SAP YaaS (Hybris as a Service) SAP HANA 2 offers new microservices. These are based on the SAP HANA Cloud Platform (read our last blog article: http://en.inspiricon.de/sap-hcp/). Due to these microservices, developers are able to create new innovations and provide modern applications with extensive information.

SAP HANA was introduced in 2010 – with that SAP took a pioneering role in the area of In-Memory technology. SAP HANA offers innovations that are based on a stable master data platform. SAP HANA 2 adds to this pioneering role in order to shape the digital future successfully. SAP HANA 2 will be available for customers from 30 November 2016. Followed by the Express Edition: designed for companies to advance new development projects. There will be extensions each half year to support agile developments.

New functions and extensions

SAP HANA 2 will offer extensive enhancements. Concerning data bank management the focus will be on high availability, workload management as well as security. Supported by these, IT companies are able to guarantee uninterrupted operation.

The option Active or rather Active Read-Enabled offers the use of secondary systems which were only used for system replication until now. This option serves to cope with reading-intensive workloads – without creating a performance loss.

In the range of data management, customers can profit from extensions concerning data quality, data integration, business modelling as well as Tiered Storage (please read our blog article on HANA In-Memory: http://en.inspiricon.de/shrink-growing-hana-database/). Due to these extensions, companies are able to access all data – no matter where they are stored.

There will be a new version of the web application SAP Enterprise Architecture Designer. It is possible to manage complex information architectures. In addition to that, potential impacts of innovative technologies can be visualized before implementing them.

SAP HANA 2 can do even more

SAP HANA 2 also offers an improvement of the analytical intelligence. Innovative engines allow an analytical processing of geo data, text, streaming data and graphical data. Developers will be able to embed comprehensive information in modern applications.

Predictive Analysis Library in SAP HANA 2 comprises new algorithms for association, classification, regression and time series analysis. Using these analyses, data scientists are able to uncover patterns in their data and supplement own applications with machine learning.

In the range of application development, users can benefit from extended functions for application server, development tools as well as development languages. The principle „Bring your own Language“ is supported. Furthermore, additional runtime environments from third-party and build packs are available. They can be used in the model Extended Application Services. With the new interface File Processor API, developers can extract and analyze text and meta data.

New microservices in the cloud

The new microservices are cloud-based and facilitate an integration of analyses in applications. It can be done on each development or language platform via APIs. The cloud microservices include the following extensions:

  • Text Analysis Entity Extraction, Text Analysis Linguistic Analysis and Text Analysis Fact Extraction: with these functions, it is possible to process text data in the cloud whereby processing of natural languages is also feasible.
  • Earth Observation Analysis: this service was developed in collaboration with ESA. Basis for this service is the interface standard WCS of OGC. Earth Observation Analysis uses satellite data of ESA and processes geo data via SAP HANA Spatial, a data base application in the cloud. This service provides historical data in real-time – the calculation happens on the basis of spectral measuring data.

You want to learn more about SAP HANA 2? Contact us here. Also follow us on Facebook or LinkedIn, and we will keep you posted on new trends and topics.

 

Author
Steffen Böhm Member of the Management Board
Phone: +49 (0) 7031 714 660 0
Email: info@inspiricon.de

Inspiricon SAP-HANA-2 cloud-in-memory

SAP HANA 2: Die nächste Generation der SAP HANA-Plattform

Mit SAP HANA 2 wurde die In-Memory Plattform SAP HANA um zukunftsweisende Neuerungen ergänzt. SAP HANA ist eine Plattform, die den digitalen Wandel vorantreiben soll. Über SAP YaaS (Hybris as a Service) sind in SAP HANA 2 neue Microservices verfügbar. Diese basieren auf der SAP HANA Cloud Plattform (s. auch unser letzter Blogartikel: http://inspiricon.de/sap-hcp/). Dank dieser Microservices können Entwickler Innovationen schaffen und moderne Anwendungen mit umfangreichen Informationen ausstatten.

Die Einführung von SAP HANA erfolgte im Jahr 2010 – damit hat das Unternehmen SAP im Bereich In-Memory-Technologie eine Vorreiterrolle eingenommen. SAP HANA wurde mit zukunftsträchtigen Neuerungen ausgestattet, die auf einer stabilen Stammdatenplattform beruhen. Diese Vorreiterrolle wird durch SAP HANA 2 ergänzt, damit die digitale Zukunft erfolgreich gestaltet werden kann. SAP HANA 2 wird Kunden ab dem 30.11.2016 zur Verfügung stehen. Kurze Zeit später wird die Express Edition folgen: Mit dieser können Unternehmen neue Entwicklungsprojekte vorantreiben. Jedes halbe Jahr werden Erweiterungen bereitgestellt, mit denen eine agile Entwicklung unterstützt wird.

Neue Funktionen und Erweiterungen

SAP HANA 2 wird umfangreiche Erweiterungen beinhalten. Im Bereich Datenbankmanagement geht es vor allem um Hochverfügbarkeit, Workload-Management sowie Sicherheit. Mit diesen werden IT-Unternehmen einen unterbrechungsfreien Geschäftsbetrieb gewährleisten können.

Die Option Active bzw. Active Read-Enabled wird die Nutzung von Sekundärsystemen erlauben, die bisher lediglich zur Systemreplikation verwendet wurden. Diese Option dient der Bewältigung von leseintensiven Workloads, ohne dass dabei Performanceverluste entstehen.

Im Bereich Datenmanagement kann von Erweiterungen profitiert werden, die Datenqualität, Datenintegration, Unternehmensmodellierung sowie Tiered Storage betreffen (s. auch unser Blogartikel zu HANA In-Memory: http://inspiricon.de/hana-in-memory/). Dank dieser Erweiterungen können Unternehmen auf sämtliche Daten zugreifen – unabhängig davon, wo diese hinterlegt sind.

Die Webanwendung SAP Enterprise Architecture Designer wird um eine neue Version erweitert. Mit dieser können IT-Unternehmen komplexe Informationsarchitekturen verwalten. Zusätzlich können die potentiellen Auswirkungen innovativer Technologien vor der Implementierung visualisiert werden.

SAP HANA 2 kann noch mehr

Zu den Neuerungen von SAP HANA 2 zählt auch eine Verbesserung der analytischen Intelligenz. Die innovativen Engines erlauben eine analytische Verarbeitung von Geodaten, Text, Streaming-Daten und grafischen Daten. Entwickler besitzen die Möglichkeit umfassende Informationen in moderne Anwendungen einzubetten.

Die Predictive Analysis Library in SAP HANA 2 beinhaltet neue Algorithmen für Assoziations-, Klassifizierungs-, Regressions- und Zeitreihenanalysen. Mit diesen Analysen können Datenwissenschaftler in ihren Daten Muster aufdecken und eigene Anwendungen um maschinelles Lernen ergänzen.

Im Bereich der Anwendungsentwicklung wird von erweiterten Funktionen für Applikationsserver, Entwicklungstools sowie Entwicklungssprachen profitiert. Es findet eine Unterstützung des Prinzips „Bring your own Language“ statt. Außerdem stehen zusätzliche Laufzeitumgebungen von Drittherstellern und Buildpacks zur Verfügung. Diese können beim Modell Extended Application Services verwendet werden. Mit der neuen Schnittstelle File Processor API können Entwickler Text- und Metadaten extrahieren und analysieren.

Die neuen Microservices in der Cloud

Die neuen Microservices sind cloud-basiert und ermöglichen eine Integration von Analysen in Anwendungen. Dies ist auf jeder Entwicklungs- oder Sprachplattform über APIs möglich. Die Microservices in der Cloud beinhalten die folgenden Erweiterungen:

  • Text Analysis Entity Extraction, Text Analysis Linguistic Analysis und Text Analysis Fact Extraction: Die Funktionen erlauben die Verarbeitung von Textdaten in der Cloud, wobei die Verarbeitung natürlicher Sprachen möglich ist.
  • Earth Observation Analysis: Der Service wurde in Zusammenarbeit mit der ESA entwickelt. Der Service wurde aufgrund des Schnittstellenstandards WCS des OGC entwickelt. Der Service nutzt Satellitendaten der ESA und verarbeitet Geodaten über die Datenbankwendung SAP HANA Spatial in der Cloud. Der Service stellt historische Daten in Echtzeit bereit – die Berechnung erfolgt aufgrund spektraler Messdaten.

Ihr möchtet noch mehr Informationen über SAP HANA 2 erhalten? Kontaktiert uns hier. Und folgt uns doch auch auf Facebook oder LinkedIn, dort informieren wir euch immer über neue Trends und Themen.

 

Autor dieses Beitrags
Steffen Böhm Vorstand
Tel.: +49 (0) 7031 714 660 0
E-Mail: info@inspiricon.de